A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Book Review

17742222-_sy540_

Ratings

5 stars

Plot: 8/10

World building: 9/10

Writing style: 9/10

Character building: 8/10

Enjoyment: 9/10

Overall: 9/10

My Opinionated Review

Note: This is the second book in the series. You can find my review for the first book here:

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury is a strong sequel to the first book, introducing amazing character development, unpredictable plotline, and taking the Fae world building to the next level. The lengthy book never bores the reader, with its character-driven plot becoming the most enjoyable part of the story. It creates the desire for the reader to become a part of the Court of Dreams.

In this sequel to ACOTAR, the story takes a completely different turn and does not resemble Beauty and the Beast retelling at all. There is no point in describing the book in much detail, since I am very late to the party, and most people know what wonders and horrors took place in ACOMAF. And for those who haven’t had the chance to read it, I can just say it is better to go into the book blind. A few months have passed since the horrible events of Under the Mountain, and everybody is dealing with their experienced horrors in their own ways. The apparent peace is not that easy to accomplish, and an inevitable war is keeping characters on edge. So when Rhysand appears to collect for the bargain that Feyre made, the characters’ lives are changed forever, making it hard to establish who is a friend, and who is a foe.

When it comes to expressing my feelings about the book, I can just say that I get it now. The hype surrounding the book was insane, and now I see why. Although the length of the book is quite intimidating, it is never slow, with so many different plotlines taking place. Although I would not call this book fast-paced as well, but the character-driven story, with the most enjoyment coming from experiencing different interactions, makes the reader get attached to these fictional personas, and left craving for more after the end of the book.

The world that SJM is building in this series is truly incredible. She is so creative with all the Fae traditions, and her ability to introduce these fictional momentums, making the reader believe in them, is truly magnificent. Moreover, the plot was quite amazing as well. So many things have happened, completely changing the tone of the book, and leaving the reader wondering what is going to happen next. The King of Hybern is a tremendous threat, and the amount of preparations and cunning it takes to be ready to face the enemy really makes this villain a powerful and frightening one.

But I believe this book’s strong point was not the rich world building, nor the unpredictable plot, although they definitely did wonders for the story. Its strength lies with the incredible characters of the Night Court. In this book, we are introduced with quite a few newbies (actually they are really old), and I can say, I loved every single one of them. It was wonderful getting to know their backstories and seeing how they interact with each other. Plus, the subtle hints of possible romantic interactions just warmed my heart. I definitely cannot wait to explore their history in more detail, especially Amren’s. These wonderful characters really made the Night Court into a Court of Dreams.

Of course, the most important and most enjoyable dynamic was the one between Fayre and Rhysand. I really loved her relationship with Tamlin in the first book, and was quite worried about the newly introduced romance in this one. However, I needn’t worry, because Rhysand’s character was the best part of any SJM’s work. My heart ached for him, and I was insanely happy when he got to experience some joy. His and Fayre’s interactions were feisty and flirtatious, and heart-warming, but never overshadowing the main storyline. Their slow-build romance kept me on the edge of my seat, and Rhysand is definitely one hell of a character, and his dedication to Fayre made my heart into a melted marshmallow.

So I think it is quite safe to say that this book is really amazing, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However, I do not seem to share the same opinion when it comes to naming it the best book ever. I am starting to recognise the patterns in SJM’s writing, and a lot of things worry me. First, I did not like the complete reinvention of Tamlin’s character or the whole Spring Court. I get that he experienced great trauma in Under the Mountain, and he might not be the best suitor for Fayre, however, he was made into a character without any redeemable qualities, and I did not like it at all. Moreover, I am also worried about the books SJM added to the series. I can see the potential of the storyline, and the many directions it can be taken, but I doubt it will do wonders for the quality of the series. Plus, there were certain moments where Fayre came a bit too close to becoming similar to Celaena’s character, and I just hope there won’t be that many quotes where she becomes darkness and power, and much much less love interests. I am just really worried that the characters will keep getting reinvented, and ruin my enjoyment. For now, I will be hoping for the best, and seeing this series as an improvement from Throne of Glass.

Overall, I really think this book deserves the hype it is getting. Maas definitely is a talented writer, and I especially love the way she crafts her chapters. I am really enjoying Fayre, even if she is becoming a bit too special for my liking. I like every member of the Court of Dreams, and cannot wait to explore their stories further. But most of all, Rhysand is reason enough to absolutely love the series.

So what are your thoughts on this book, and the series in general? Do you enjoy Sarah J. Maas writing? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Book Playlist

  1. The Smiths – Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
  2. Kodaline – Midnight
  3. Dream Theater – The Spirit Carries On
  4. Muse – Supermassive Black Hole
  5. The Lumineers – Don’t Wanna Go

 

13 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. This book is life! It was such an unexpected turn of events considering poor character development in ToG, so I was like WAIT WHAT HAPPENED? WHY IS ACOMAF SO PERFECT?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this review! This was one of my favorite books of the year. I feel it was perfectly paced and the character development was insane but believable. It actually really made me reevaluate parts of ACOTAR and realize that Tamlin didn’t change as much as I originally thought after finishing this book. I read some parts of the first book over again, and I think it’s more Feyre’s perception of him that changes, because of what she experiences. Of course his character develops too, after all the trauma he went through. But after thinking about it that way, his change seemed more plausible and actually made me super impressed with SJM. She pulled off this development perfectly.
    I also totally agree with you about my worry over love interests and similarities to Throne of Glass. I’m hoping she’ll surprise us with where she takes this series vs. that one. And I can’t see how she could change what Ferye and Rhys have, but I’m worried she could find a way… 😂

    Like

    • Thanks. I did get to revaluate Tamlin’s character in this book, and I do feel that it was more about Fayre’s perception changing, however, characters do tend to change in SJM’s work quite a bit, and I would like to see characters who do not turn from white to black so quickly. Hopefully these books will not have same qualities that I disliked in Throne of Glass, because I am really enjoying this series!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this book! I liked the first one, too, and I think it’s remarkable how the complete 180 of Tamlin and Spring Court are shocking yet believable. One of the best things about this book – and the nose heart-rending – is that Feyre lives in her grief and PTSD for awhile. I respected the representation of what going through something like that would do to you. Heroine or not. Great review!

    Like

    • Thanks! After getting to know Rhysand, it is easy to start disliking Tamlin and recognise his harmful behaviour even in the first book. However, I tend to like it more when characters are less black and more in the grey area, with some redeeming qualities. But I definitely agree on the representation of PTSD being one of the best things. Too often characters get over major trauma in just a few days, and that is not realistic at all.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

