Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside of the US

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week you get a topic for your top ten list.

This week, we focus on the books that are set outside the US. I have noticed that quite a few books that I tend to read are based in the US, and I do enjoy this setting immensely, since it is a foreign country to me. However, I also love stumbling upon a book that is set outside the stated, especially in places that are completely unfamiliar to me. And the wanderlust soul in me loves to experience new cultures, therefore, transporting yourself to a new place through a book, is wonderful.

So here are my top 10 books set outside USA:

1. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

us-jellicoe1

Set in Australia

2. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

19063

Set in Germany

3. The Wraith & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

51zanrz7r4l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Set in Khorasan, a place that would be somewhere in Iraq and Afghanistan

4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

dsb_final_6_1

Set in Prague, Czech Republic

5. And the Moutains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

and-the-mountains-echoed

Set in Kabul, Afghanistan; Paris, France; Tinos, Greece

6. The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

480204

Set in Paris, France

7. Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

147865

Set in Ireland

8. Someone To Run With by David Grossman

9781408806661

Set in Israel

9. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

clockwork_angel_1

Set in London, England

10. Vain by Fisher Amelie

18331807

Set in Uganda and Cape Town, South Africa

So these are my choices for the books that are set outside the US. I was trying to use as many locations as I could, because there are quite a few really great books that I have read set in England or Australia, but their spots in the list have been filled by other ones.

Have you read these books? Tell me what you think of there reads, and recommend me more great books that are set outside the US.

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside of the US

  1. Great list! I loved TWATD and really need to get on to Daughter of Smoke and Bone – I keep seeing it everywhere this week, so surely it leaves an impression on a huge number of people. And The Book Thief has been on my TBR forever… I just feel like it’s such a special book, I’m waiting for the right mood to actually binge it through.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The Daughter of Smoke and Bone has changed my perception towards fantasy books completely, it really is one of the best fantasy series ever written. And I hold a special place in my heart for The Book Thief, it is weirdly a very light-hearted and positive read considering the tragic topic.

      Like

      • Wow, that’s a very tall praise – I really should get to it soon. I’ve been wanting a fantasy that really grabs you and doesn’t let you go, haha.

        Ooh, I think you’re the first person to say that The Book Thief is light-hearted and positive. I’ve only heard that it was heartbreaking and really sad! That makes me curious as to how I’ll read it. 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

