Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Thank you Chicnerdreads for tagging me, it is always fun to reflect on your reading achievements once in a while. I cannot believe it’s July already, but I am quite proud of my book numbers this year. I believe I have not read as many books in any 6 month period as in the last half the year, and considering my busy schedule, I am happy I managed to squeeze in more reading this year.

So anyway, I’ll start with the list:

Best Book You’ve Read In 2016

23395680

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Well probably. I don’t feel like I should single out just one book, because I have read quite a few really great ones, but I guess this out objectively and subjectively. Plus, it was a genre that is out of my comfort zone, therefore I name it my favourite of the year so far.

Best Sequel You’ve Read In 2016

17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas definitely tops the list. Compared to Throne of Glass, it was an immense improvement of the series. I just felt so many emotions while reading this one, it completely blew my mind.

New Release You Haven’t Read But Want To

23299512

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I need to read more of Schwab’s work ASAP.

Most Anticipated Release For the Second Half of the Year

22299763

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. There are quite a few books that I cannot wait to get my hands on, but this one really tops the list.

Biggest Disappointment

25454883

Never Never: Part Three by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I really loved the first two parts of Never Never. They were mysterious and engaging and confusing in the best way. But after reading the resolve of all the actions, I could not believe how lazy and clique the ending was.

Biggest Surprise

11235712

Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I have no idea how I have decided to pick up this book, but I was convinced that I wouldn’t like it. When I read about Cinder being a cyborg, living in a futuristic world, it just seemed like not my cup of tea. But I was completely blown away by the well-crafted storyline and the writing. The whole series was entertainment at its best, and I got completely sucked in that world.

Favourite New Author

There are so many new great authors that I have discovered this year, but I will go with Marissa Meyer. Since I have read the whole of The Lunar Chronicles by her, and not one book disappointed me, I can honestly say that her ability to crate such a rich story world and entertain the reader to the bone, blew me away.

Newest Fictional Crush

Ok, so I was trying to name only one thing in each category, but I cannot in this one. I guess it will have to be a tie between Raffe from Anngelfall, Chaol from Thorne of Glass series, and Captain Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles.

Newest Favourite Character

Cress from The Lunar Chronicles and Jem from The Infernal Devices. But there are too many.

Book That Made You Cry

clockworkprincesscoverspecial2-265x400

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. The Infernal Devices series came as a complete surprise to me. I never got the appeal to The Mortal Instruments series, I only managed to read those books because I was not aware of how easy it is to get any book you want now. I was prepared for something silly, but fun, and this series just blew me away. I don’t remember when was the last time that I have cried as much as I have while reading Clockwork Princess.

Book That Made You Happy

10015384-_sy540_

Simon vs. Te Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. It was such a light-hearted and fun read, that I thing my face started to hurt from all the smiling.

Favourite Book to Film Adaptation

mv5bmtc2mtq3mda1nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwoda3oti4nje-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_

So I have not read the book, but I absolutely adored the movie, and found newly born love for Matt Damon. So it counts.

Favourite Post You Have Done This Year

Since my blog is very recent, I just love all the posts that I have done recently. It is very refreshing to write and love it.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

51h4w9il9ul-_sx330_bo1204203200_

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh.

What Book Do You Need To Read By the End Of the Year

Way too many. But I’ll go with:

a_monster_calls

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness is definitely a must read for me.

So this was fun. It is definitely useful to reflect, because when it comes to deciding on your favourite books of the year, it proves to be a difficult task.

For this fun task, I tag (you don’t have to do this tag if you don’t want to):

areaderswhimsy

novelacious

aubreyleaman

caronbull

rabidwhite

And anybody else who wants to do this tag.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out {Tag} – rabid reads

  2. I have heard good things about A Monster Calls but never read a synopsis on it, however they did just release a trailer for the movie adaptation the other day 🙂

    PS: thanks for the tag! I saw a version of this on BookTube and loved it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

