Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Book Review

51isww2rpol-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Ratings

5 stars

Plot: 9/10

World building: 9/10

Writing style: 9/10

Character building: 10/10

Enjoyment: 10/10

Overall: 9/10

My Opinionated Review

“No mourners, no funerals”

Six of Crows has taken up one of the top spots in my favourite reads of all time – it just left me speechless. I have enjoyed it immensely, and instantly bought a new copy of it to give it as a gift to my friend. I feel like I need to share this brilliant piece of writing with everyone!

Set in a Grisha world created in Shadow and Bone, it is a twisted and fast paced story, keeping the reader at the edge of their seat straight from the beginning until the very end. It was my first book by Leigh Bardugo, and although I cannot say much about her previous works, this text is an excellent piece of writing, which does not require you to read the Shadow and Bone trilogy. It involves a team-up of six very different characters, who are full of issues, driven by selfish reasons, and involved in criminal activities. There is an impossible heist, a huge sum of money promised as a reward, magic, and, most importantly, magnificent and complicated dynamics. Bardugo certainly has done wonders with this story, creating the most captivating characters, a magnificent plot, and a rich story world.

The book has everything that I enjoy in reading:

  • An entrancing plot, where you have no idea where it is going, you fear for the characters, but that makes the journey much more enjoyable.
  • Complex but utterly fascinating characters. They truly are horrible people, but at the same time I could relate to every single one of them, and kept rooting for their success and survival. The story is told in five different perspectives, and it is done brilliantly, that although we get a fracture of insight of every character’s schemes and feelings, every single ploy still surprised me. I am just in awe of how well-crafted the characters were.
  • And the romance! This is what I call romance well done. It does not overshadow the story, giving the reader only breadcrumbs of a love story plot. But I kept eagerly anticipating the romantic scenes, and when they came, it turned me into a giddy girl. I mean, I never start shipping characters so quickly, but in this book, I did. Matthias and Nina’s story was the best part of the book, besides all the other wonderful elements. Really, I just can’t choose. But what surprised me the most was Kaz, or the existence of his feelings and exposed vulnerability. His amazing portrayal and care for a certain Wraith have to be the most thought-provoking character development.
  • The writing was splendid, everything was showed and not told, and the multiple perspectives resulted in the complexity of the story, without ever turning it clumsy or confusing.

Ok, I could go on and on about how much I loved this book, but I believe it is best to go into it without knowing much about it. I knew next to nothing about the plot or the grisha world, and it did wonders for me. I am so devastated that I have to wait months until the sequel’s release, but happy at the same time that I finally have a series where I look forward to the new book. Haven’t felt it since the Harry Potter series as I usually either start reading series when they are finished or get bored with them. But I realise now that I am in love with the fantasy genre again, and this book just proves how amazing this genre can be when done well.

Definitely one of the best books that I have read this year. I have decided to read it in a busy time in my life, so it took me 10 days to finish it. But I am so glad that I got to live in this story for so long because somehow it made the book much more special.

I highly recommend reading this book. It displays a perfect balance between entertaining and torturing the reader. Filled with so many surprises and magical moments, it is quite a wild ride. And did I mention the characters? Their dynamics are the heart of the story. I will not forget this book for a long time.

What are your thoughts on this incredible masterpiece?

 

Book Playlist

  1. The Civil Wars – Devil’s Backbone
  2. Kris Allen – Lost
  3. Ben Cocks – So Cold
  4. Jamie N Commons – Devil in Me
  5. X Ambassadors – Unsteady
11 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’m not a fan of Shadow & Bone at all, but I still want to give this book a shot. I’m curious to know what you think about S&B when (if) you read it and how it compares to Six of Crows

    Like

    • Shadow and Bone trilogy is on my TBR list, but I am not sure whether I will be reading the series since I heard it is not that good. I might in the future, but right now there are too many other books that I need to read fist. But I suggest you give this one a chance, because there are quite a lot of people who disliked Shadow and Bone and absolutely loved Six of Crows.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I even want to get “No Mourners, No Funerals” as a tattoo. Great review!! The Devil’s Backbone is a great song. I also think Heathens by Twentyone Pilots is another great song for this book.

    Like

  3. I’m reading “Six of Crows” right now. I must say I’m not enjoying it at all… I’m so confused it seems I’m reading the third book of a series when it’s, in fact, the first. Do you think I’m incapable of understanding it because I haven’t read “Shadow and Bone”?
    xx Fae

    Like

    • How much into the book are you? Because I haven’t read ‘Shadow and Bone’ series either, and it did not prevent me from enjoying this book. At the beginning I was confused myself, but after I got used to the world, I really loved it. Of course this book might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I did think it was brilliant.

      Like

Leave a Reply

