Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Book Review

13519397

 

Book Ratings

4 stars

Plot: 6/10

World building: 8/10

Writing style: 9/10

Character building: 7/10

Enjoyment: 8/10

Overall: 8/10

My Opinionated Review

Throne of Glass is a promising start to the series that have been the talk of the book world these past few years. Although it got a little bit too melodramatic at times, I really liked the premise of the story, and I see the potential of it getting better. It is an action-packed story, filled with badass characters, rich world-building, and a lot of potential for future improvements.

I will not bother telling much about the premise of the book since these days it can be compared to not knowing the premise of Harry Potter or Game of thrones. The story centres around the female protagonist Calaena, who is freed from slavery to become a candidate in a competition in becoming a King’s champion. Despite her young age, she is a well-known assassin, and must face the hardest of challenges to earn her freedom. She is ready to do anything to escape her enemy’s grip, but unlikely friendships with a king’s son Dorian, a captain of the guard Chaol, and a princess of another land Nehemia forces her to reconsider her plans.

I was quite afraid to read this series as it has been receiving so much hype lately, and I often tend to be disappointed in overhyped things. Although there were quite a few elements that bothered me, the story really hooked me straight from the beginning, making it impossible to put the book down.

Minor spoilers ahead.

The competition plot seemed a bit too ‘hunger games’ at first, but I did enjoy it for the most part. Although the author uses a typical structure, indicating a pretty obvious outcome, the cliqued plotline works in entertaining the reader. The plot was probably the weakest part of the book, but it was satisfactory enough, and since it is the first book in a six-book series, it worked as an opener for a complex story.

I really enjoyed the main character, since she is very different from the characters I am used to. She is not a good, misunderstood girl, no, she is a badass assassin who is also in touch with her femininity. Her characterisation had multiple layers to it since no one thing defines her. She is guarded, but flirty; strong, yet vulnerable; and a badass fighter, yet a girly lady. Nevertheless, there were quite a few moments when I found the character’s choices to be quite annoying. With so much at stake, all her distractions with silly things seemed rather unimportant.

This book also includes a traditional love triangle plot. I can admit that love triangles do not bother me that much when they are done well. I really like the romantic side of the story when the main focus is not on the love story, but on the action, and it leaves the reader craving for more. In this case, Calaena and Dorian’s supposed romance did not bring any feelings out of me. From Dorian’s side, Calaena is still an assassin, and there was not enough build-up for this instant connection to develop. Dorian just seemed a bit of a boring character overall, and his presence did not have any vital role.

Chaol, on the other hand, was the best thing about the book. I found his characterisation so well-crafted and enjoyable. His normalcy and lack of specialness made me get attached to the character really fast. Moreover, his dedication to the people he cares about, his moral compass, and his sense of obligation, made the character very appealing. Plus, the hints towards his and Calaena’s future romantic relationship warmed my heart, and I will be anticipating the further development of this romantic plot.

Overall, I really think it was an engaging book, filled with well-developed and multi-layered characters, and a promising plotline. I look forward to reading the next book since I see much potential for the main storyline’s improvement.

If you have not yet read it, I suggest you do, since this series has quite an important part in the book world. However, with all the existing hype, prepare for Thorne of Glass to be not as spectacular as it is made to look like.

What are your thoughts on this insanely popular series? Let me know.

 

Book Playlist

  1. James Bay – Scars
  2. David Gray – Alibi
  3. Hurts – Devotion
  4. Keaton Henson – Small Hands
  5. Imagine Dragons – I’m So Sorry
8 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas | readinglust

  2. Pingback: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | readinglust

  3. I had also given Throne of Glass a 4 star rating but I’ve read all the other books in the series and was blown away by how amazing it is. I feel like the author has a hard time introducing the world to us because I felt the same way with A Court of Thorns and Roses but I loved the sequel. Once the world and characters are set, I feel like SJM just goes off into this amazing story. I completely understand the whole “it feels like Hunger Games” but once you read the prequel and rest of the book in series, you’ll see how much things have changed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

