The Book Sacrifice Tag

SONY DSC

Thanks so much Diminishing Thoughts for tagging me. This  book tag looks like so much fun, I am excited to sacrifice some books!

1. An Over-Hyped Book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

15745753

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. While I did not hate the book, the hype definitely ruined it for me. I heard so many good things about this one, and actually reading it, I just didn’t get it. It was OK, I guess. But I wouldn’t regret throwing this book at the imaginary zombies.

 

2. A Sequel

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

22465605

Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins. It is a sequel to the delightful and fun Rebel Belle. Again, I did not completely hate it, but compared to the first book, it was such a disappointment, that I am not sure if I’ll even try to continue with the series.

 

3. A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

16967527-_sy540_

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. Sorry Kafka, I love you, but this book was just too disgusting for my vivid imagination. I get why it is a valuable classic, but did it have to be a giant cockroach?

 

4. A Least Favourite Book

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

11505797

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. I would so burn this book, without any kind of regret. It is not only that it’s a terrible book, but it glorifies abusive relationships and excuses any obsessive behaviour just because the guy is hot. I am so angry about this book, I would rant more, but I wrote my whole dissertation on it, so it is finally out of my system.

So these are my picks. Hopefully nobody feels offended, because I do respect the first 3 books, it is just my personal opinion. Sometimes it is very satisfying to express your negative feelings. It was fun doing this tag.

 

 

Leave a Reply

